Never Too Young to Read a Chapter Book

As you know from last week, early literacy is extremely important to me. While many people may think young children should only be reading picture books, I think children can enjoy an assortment of books from many genres. For Christmas my daughters, age 3 and 4, received two chapter books. Upon opening them they flipped through to look at the pictures, as they do with any new book, but they were surprised to see only a few pictures throughout the book. Still they were very eager to start reading them and I was just as eager to read to them. Chapter books allow a child to use their imagination. Without pictures showing them what they should be envisioning with the words they are free to create whatever images in their minds. One of my favorite activities to do with my children after reading a chapter is to give them crayons and a blank paper to create an image from the chapter. I love seeing them depict through their drawings what they thought the chapter was about and how different their images are. Both my children love to talk about and draw what they have just heard from the books. So for all those that think chapter books are for older children, I say no way. Give it a try; young children can learn so much from listening to chapter books being read to them.

One of the greatest gifts adults can give—to their offspring and to their society—is to read to children. —Carl Sagan

Kim

3 thoughts on “Never Too Young to Read a Chapter Book

  1. Rachel Smith February 22, 2015 / 7:30 pm

    I completely agree! My 6 and 7 year old students loved chapter books once they got into them. They didn’t need any of the picture supports and I think they really just liked the adventure that comes from living in a world you’ve imagined.

    Like

  2. brioual February 24, 2015 / 1:05 am

    I totally agree with you about chapter books. I love picture books, and I think all age groups should read them, but chapter books really get the imagination going. One of the kids I babysit is 6, and every time I babysit, we sit and I read him parts of Harry Potter. He sits there so quietly, and I can only imagine what he is picturing in his head, because my mind is also wandering off, picturing Hogwarts and the marvelous adventures Harry, Hermione and Ron go on.

    I love your idea about reading a chapter and having children draw what they imagined as it was read to them. I am definitely going to try this next time I read a chapter book to younger children!

    Like

  3. Jessie Renaud February 24, 2015 / 1:47 am

    Kim- I agree with your entry 100%!! Not only does reading chapter books early on help our brains with making pictures and creativity, they also spark conversation because the child might have questions about what they are reading, AND they also solidify the bond you have with your young ones. One of my fondest memories is of my Aunt reading the Narnia Chronicles to me and my sister right before bedtime… of course I also have wonderful memories of my parents reading to me as well… but my Aunt’s reading really stands out because we were in Maine in the summer, and as she read the salty air came breezing through our bedroom, and I felt completely safe and relaxed. To this day, I am very close with my Aunt and we STILL read together 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment