Ipad Reading Apps for Kids

This weekend my family has been on a mini-vacation to the Poconos. Knowing we had a 3.5 hour car ride with 2 kids to keep entertained I thought it would be a great time to download a few new apps on my daughters’ Ipads. I didn’t want to spend money on the apps so I only searched for free ones.  Here are the two that my kids haven’t stopped playing all weekend.

Pixel and Parker

Pixel and Parker is an interactive reading game that allows the user to spin a wheel to unlock new surprises along the way.  Parker is looking for his curious cat Pixel, with each spin of the wheel Parker completes a task to continue the story. The story ends when Parker returns home to find Pixel on the front porch waiting.

When I downloaded this story I thought my girls would lose interest quickly since it is the same story each time, the only difference is what side tasks Parker completes to reach home. I have been quite surprised at how often I hear them playing. My youngest daughter said she loves listening to the story because she loves Parker’s laugh!

Read Me Stories

Read Me Stories offers a new book every day for user to listen to and read along with. The story offered with the free version of the app is about a pony name Tuffy. Tuffy goes on an adventure to meet new friends and do good deeds. Your child can follow along as the story is read as the words are highlighted. If you touch the characters in the pictures the storyline will expand.

I thought this app would be great to get a new story every day. However to get more stories you have to make an in-app purchase. Again at this time I didn’t want to spend money on any apps but you can listen to a quick preview of other stories available and they do sound like fun books to read. My girls haven’t used this app as much as Pixel and Parker but it is still a great app for storytime.

Both of these apps are available through the app store on your ipad.

Leave a comment